Hidden Image

Frequently Asked Questions


Appliance Standards FAQs

I manufacture a product that is not listed in the State Appliance Standards Database (SASD). What does this mean?

The SASD only includes a subset of New York State regulated products. If New York’s standard aligns with California’s Appliance Efficiency Regulations, those products must be certified to the MAEDbS. To understand which database you need to certify to, review Current Standards.

What should I do if I realize a product I have for sale, rent, or lease isn’t listed on the SASD or MAEDbS?

If you have products that should be listed on the SASD or MAEDbS, you should take steps to get them listed in advance of the compliance date; if the compliance date has passed, you should take steps to get them listed as soon as possible. Instructions for setting up accounts for the SASD and MAEDbS can be found in Compliance.

If I manufacture, sell, distribute, rent, or lease a product listed under Current Standards, does that mean it’s regulated?

Not necessarily. The product is within scope of the regulations if it 1) is manufactured on or after the standard effective date and 2) meets the definition of the product. Each product and appliance standard has specific product definitions that may or may not include the product you manufacture. To confirm whether the products you manufacture are regulated, review Current Standards.

How much time will it take for my product to be approved once I certify it to the SASD or MAEDbS?

Product data approval timelines are different for the SASD and MAEDbS

  • SASD: Approximately within 14 days of submittal
  • MAEDbS: Approximately within 30 days of submittal

What are the consequences of manufacturing or selling a noncompliant product?

Any manufacturer, distributor, retailer, or installer selling, leasing, or renting noncompliant products may be subject to enforcement penalties. Certification to the SASD or the MAEDbS, is required to prove compliance.

I’m still having trouble understanding the requirements and my responsibilities in the compliance process. What should I do?

Contact the NYSERDA Appliance Standards Help Center at [email protected].

Are the gas fireplace 7-day shut-off requirements found in the New York regulations (Section 509.15(b)(ii)) intended to be from the time of last use of the main burner?

Yes, the intention is for 7 days to be from the time of last use of the main burner. The New York regulatory language is consistent with requirements already in place in other states and aligns with market best practices.