The Buildings of Excellence Advisory Council

To help guide the competition and engage with participants, NYSERDA has convened an advisory council. The Council includes a cross-section of interests with State and national representation and will provide their professional opinions on project submissions, make recommendations for improvements, and help increase participation.

Meet the Advisory Council members

  • Illya Azaroff: Independent Architect and Professor
  • Georgi Ann Bailey: Executive Director, American Institute of Architects New York State
  • Charles Bell: Program Director, Consumers Union and NYSERDA Board Member
  • Jenn Gustetic: Program Executive for Small Business Innovation, NASA and visiting fellow, Harvard Kennedy School
  • Brendan Hall: Government Advocacy Chair, Central NY ASHRAE Chapter
  • Susan Hewitt: Partner, The Cheshire Group
  • Bomee Jung: Vice President of Energy and Sustainability, New York City Housing Authority
  • John Lee: Deputy Director for Green Buildings and Energy Efficiency, NYC Mayor’s Office of Sustainability
  • Kelly Hayes McAlonie: Director of Campus Planning, University at Buffalo and 2012 President of AIA NYS
  • Mahesh Ramanujam: President & CEO, U.S Green Building Council & Green Building Certification Inc.
  • Silda Wall Spitzer: Director and Principal, New World Capital Group and an environmental leader and advocate
  • Zachary Steinberg: Vice President-Policy, REBNY
  • Richard Yancey: Executive Director, Building Energy Exchange
  • J. Meejin Yoon: Incoming Chair of Cornell School of Architecture, Art and Planning