Midwestern Greenhouse Gas Accord

Source: Natural Resources Conservation Service (USDA)

The Midwestern Greenhouse Gas Reduction AccordLink opens in new window - close new window to return to this page. is an agreement between six Midwestern states and one Canadian province. Participating entities include Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Manitoba; Observers include Indiana, Ohio, South Dakota, and Ontario. The Accord includes greenhouse gas reduction targets and timeframes, a market-based, multi-sector cap-and-trade mechanism, and emissions tracking, management, and crediting. Additional steps, such as low-carbon fuel standards, regional incentives and funding mechanisms, will be adopted as needed to meet emissions reduction targets.

Last Updated: 10/08/2014